Thursday, May 19, 2022



What’s Your Love Language

Relationships are easy…said no one EVER! February has always been dubbed as “The Love Month”. Although I am one of those women that think that we should experience love 365 days a year and that we do not need a date to remind us that we love someone. If everyone thought that way, there would not be any need to write about how we communicate while being in love.

The biggest culprit in us not being able to communicate is: time. Between hectic schedules, demanding jobs and long days, telling your other half that you love him / her may be placed in the backburner…unintentionally of course. We often forget to give compliments, to send a rose just because it’s Monday. Through the years relationships experts have spoken about being able to identify and implement the “5 love languages”:

  1. Words of affirmation

Persons that engage in this type of love language, are the ones that need to say I love you. If you really want to speak that language then you have to tell them WHY you love them. This is all about letting your partner know that you love them and that you are perfectly fine showing them appreciation for being in your life. talking directly to them and showing sincerity, kindness and affirmation your way in to their heart.

  1. Quality Time

This language is all about making your partner feel valued and appreciated by spending quality time together, where he / she is the center of your orbit at that moment. This means that everything that is not about the 2 of you, should be placed on the back burner (work, chores, social media, gadgets etc). It is important to simply take time to give each other the necessary attention. Spending time with your partner means that you are growing your communication. Involve them in cooking, planning or simply speaking about the future. Make them feel and understand that hey are an essential part of your life.

  1. Receiving Gifts

If you love this language, it means that you put a lot of effort into finding the perfect and meaningful gift. We all know that finding that perfect gift means that you know your partner and that you are willing to go the extra mile to make them happy. Using the element of surprise, will result in satisfied reactions. The act of giving without expecting anything in return, shows them that you genuinely care and that you want to be the person responsible for making them smile.

  1. Acts of Service

This has everything to do with being helpful. Think of a relationship as a partnership, where both parties are considerate enough to know when they need to assist each other. Think about having a conversation, where you can discuss what would make both of your lives easier and this would hereby ease the burden of responsibility, especially if kids are involved. Simple things like helping around the house, breakfast in bed every once in a while, says that you want to make your “house” a home.

  1. The Physical Touch

For people that speak this love language, are driven by any type of physical touch. From holding hands, to a simple peck on the forehead. Remember that your partner needs to sense that you WANT this contact. Offer to give them a back rub after a long day at work, make an express pedi station and make them feel needed. We have to remember that body language and physical touch are the most effective of the love language. It calms, it entices, it sets you up for what is coming, it heals and it reassure you that everything is going to be just fine.

At the end of the journey, you will realize that not everyone knows how to express their love the same way. Being aware of the various types of love, will prepare the foundation towards a healthy relationship.


By: Kenty Lichtenberg of

Kerai Kreative Style

FB: Kerai Kreative Style